Skip to main content

Leaning into Lent: A Digital Guide to Stations of the Cross from Indianapolis 5th Graders

by Kenta Sachen (ACE 28, Indianapolis)

Basilica Mass

At St. Philip Neri, we have been praying the Stations of the Cross every Tuesday during this Lenten season. These 30 minutes have been a very calming and reflective weekly reminder of Christ’s sacrifice for us. After several weeks of praying the Stations, I turned to my students to see how they have been reflecting on Christ’s journey during Lent. Below, you will find the 14 Stations of the Cross, as written by my fifth graders. Each Station comes with an illustration, a summary, a prayer, and a short reflection. While I would love for you to come visit my hallway to pray these Stations in person, I hope that this digital version provides you with peace and guidance during Lent and beyond. 


The First Station: Jesus is Condemned

Reflection: At this station, we can talk about how Jesus didn’t fight back to Pilate and forgave him. We are reminded to forgive and not fight back even if it’s unfair.

The Second Station: Jesus Receives the Cross

Reflection: This station makes me think how Jesus suffers for us. It shows God's love because He teaches me how to be strong and show kindness.

The Third Station: Jesus Falls the First Time

Reflection: This is a good station because it reminds me that even if I fall down that I can get back up.

The Fourth Station: Jesus Meets His Mother

Reflection: Mary shows us love and care because even though she didn't want her son to die, she still follows God's plan. 

The Fifth Station: Simon Helps Jesus Carry the Cross

Reflection: At this station we can think about how we can help others even if nobody else wants to. 

The Sixth Station: Veronica Wipes Jesus’ Face

Reflection: At this station, we can think about how Veronica rushes to Jesus and wipes his face.

The Seventh Station: Jesus Falls the Second Time

Reflection: We are all reminded of how Jesus was determined to get back up. We can also think about friends helping us up.

The Eighth Station: Jesus Meets the Women

Reflection: Jesus you showed me that I can be a true friend and help others when they are in a hard time

The Ninth Station: Jesus Falls the Third Time

Reflection: Jesus you showed me to never give up on yourself. Jesus help me to get through the hard times.

The Tenth Station: Jesus is Stripped of His Clothes

Reflection: Jesus, you showed me that sometimes I have to give my things up just like how you gave up your life for us and our sins.

The Eleventh Station: Jesus is Nailed to the Cross

Reflection: At this station, we can think about how we can be brave in hard times like Jesus was. Here we are reminded of Jesus when he was brave at this time.

The Twelfth Station: Jesus Dies on the Cross

Reflection: Jesus I’m sorry for you having to die on the cross to erase everyone’s sins. Help me not to sin.

The Thirteenth Station: Jesus is Taken Down from the Cross

Reflection: At this station, we can think about that when Jesus died he laid in the arms of his mom.

The Fourteenth Station: Jesus is Laid in the Tomb

Reflection: Lord, sometimes I feel that I am in the darkness and that I am alone, but you are going to bring joy to the world.